Hamburg Jazz Award

One of the prime objectives of the Dr. E. A. Langner-Foundation is to sustainably strengthen the jazz scene in Hamburg. The Hamburg Jazz Price does thereby play an important role.

Nils Landgren, the world-famous jazz musician, is the patron of the Hamburg Jazz-Award. The award was introduced by the Dr. E. A. Langner-Foundation in 2007 and was presented thereafter every second year to local jazz musicians and ensembles for their extraordinary artistic contribution or achievement in the jazz arts. An independent jury, which comprised of such renowned stars as Till Brönner, voted and selected each winner of this prestigious award. The sponsorship of this project was transferred in 2013 to Elbjazz GmbH.

Previous Award Winner: 2007 Gabriel Coburger, 2009 Ulita Knaus, 2011 Vladyslav Sendecki, 2013 Prof. Wolf Kerschek, 2015 Sebastian Gille, 2017 Wolfgang Schlüter, 2019 Lisa Wulff